Murray State College student Leslie Travis was selected as a Phi Theta Kappa 2023 New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar.

Travis will receive a $1,250 scholarship and will be recognized during the Association of Community College Trustees’ Leadership Congress in October.

This scholarship is the first of its kind to support students at associate degree-granting institutions on a national scale as students plan to enter the workforce upon complete of a degree or certificate. The program is sponsored by the Coca-Cola Foundation with additional support provided by Phi Theta Kappa.

More than 2,400 applications were received from more than 1,300 colleges across the nation. Scholars are selected based on their academic achievement, leadership, service and significant endeavors. Only one scholar was selected from each state. She received the highest score in Oklahoma.

“We are honored to have a Murray State student recognized for her hard work and dedication put forth to earn this scholarship,” said Dr. Tim Faltyn, Murray State College president. “Our faculty and staff work hard to provide the support that our students need to excel.”

PTK is made up of more than 3.8 million members, nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 countries and approximately 240,000 active members in the nation’s colleges. Murray State has the honor in being one of those chapters.