In February, two teams from Murray State College competed in the 2024 NAQT Community College Championship Tournament. After 15 rounds of competitions, Murray State’s A Team placed third with a 9-3 record. The team went undefeated in the five preliminary matches, but went 4-2 in the playoffs losing to fourth place Redlands A and eventual champions Chipola A from Florida.

“Winning sectionals and qualifying for this tournament two years in a row is a true testament of this team’s hard work,” said Tracey Hickman, Murray State College team coach. “After placing fourth in our first year, the students knew what it would take to place in the top three and were determined to get there.”

Freshman Kanyon Beck was selected for the tournament all-star team. Beck captained the A-Team and led in scoring with an average of 45.63 points. Team members included Dakota Buford, Colton Criner, Grant Matchen and Brooklyn Pritchard.

Having a player selected to the tournament all-star team for a second year in a row shows the dedication and talent that make up Aggie Nation. “Coach Hickman is an excellent leader for these teams,” said Dr. Tim Faltyn, Murray State College President. “We are incredibly proud of their success. It’s a great day to be an Aggie.”

Murray State’s B-Team finished 10th in the competition with a 6-5 record. The team members were co-captains Cal Keene and Lance Thompson, Dalton Elmer, Caleb Stephenson, and Jaydon Walters.